Music expresses feeling and thought, without language; it was below and before speech, and it is above and beyond all words.

Raag Yaman

Raag Yaman

Raag Yaman (also known as Emaan in West Asia and Kalyan in South India) is a heptatonic Hindustani Classical Raag of Kalyan Thaat.

Aaroh: Sa Re Ga Ma# Pa Dha Ni SA
Avaroh: SA Ni DHa Pa Ma# Ga Re Sa

Raag Yaman emerges from Kalyan Thaat.

Raag Yaman’s Jati is Sampurna-Sampurna, where both Aaroha and Avroha include all the seven swaras. All the swaras in the Raag are Shuddha, the exception being Teevra Madhyam(Ma)

Samay (Time)
Raag Yaman is traditionally sung during the first quarter of the night (Pratham Prahar).

In context
Yaman is supposed to be one of the most fundamental ragas in Hindustani Classical Music. It is usually one of the first ragas taught to the serious classical music student.

Vadi Swar (Most used note): G
Samvadi Swar (Next most used note): N

Pakad: Ni* Re Ga Ma# Pa, Ma# Ga Re Sa.

Aaj Jaane Ki Zid Na Karo – Farida Khanum

Khuda Ka Zikar Kare Ya Tumhari Baat Kare – Chandan Dass

Richa Sharma – Chaap Tilak Sab Chheeni. amir khusroo kalam

Din dhal jaye haye raat na jaye – Mohd Rafi

Ehsaan Tera Hoga Mujh Par – Mohd Rafi


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on March 12, 2013 by in Ragas and tagged , .
%d bloggers like this: