Music expresses feeling and thought, without language; it was below and before speech, and it is above and beyond all words.

Raag Bilawal

Bilawal is a raga and basic thaat (musical mode) in Hindustani classical music. It is equivalent to the Western Ionian mode (major scale) and contains the notes S R G m P D N S’ (see swara for explanation). The pitches of Bilawal thaat are all shuddha, or natural. Flat (komal) or sharp (tivra) of pitches always occurs with reference to the interval pattern in Bilawal thaat.

Aaroh: Sa Re Ga Pa Dha Ni SA

Avaroh: SA Ni Dha Pa Ma Ga Re Sa

Raag Yaman emerges from Bilawal thaat.

Pakad: Ga Re, Ga Ma Dha Pa, Ma Ga, Ma Re Sa

Samay (Time): Morning

Vadi Swar (Most used note): Ga
Samvadi Swar (Next most used note): Dha

JaNa GaNa MaNa – National Anthem

Dil Hai Chhota Sa – Roja

Tu Hi Re Tu Hi Re- Bombay

Ae dil hai mushkil jeena yahan

Dil Tadap Tadap Ke Keh Raha Hai AA Bhi Jaa- Madumati


One comment on “Raag Bilawal

  1. Rajat yadav
    October 26, 2017

    this website is much helpful for people who are listening to classical music

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on May 3, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
%d bloggers like this: