Music expresses feeling and thought, without language; it was below and before speech, and it is above and beyond all words.

Raag Kedar

Kedar, also known as Kedara, is a Hindustani classical raga. Named after Lord Shiva, the raga is placed on a high pedastal in the realms of Indian classical music. It is characterised by a lot of complex turns, which are brilliantly melodious but difficult to express in words.

Thaat:  Kalyan

Aaroh:  S M ~P, m P D n ~D P, m P S’

Avaroh: S’ N D P , m P D P M~ , S R S

Pakad:  S M , M P, m P m P, D P M, R S

Jaati:  Shaadava-Sampurna

Vadi:  Sa

Samvadi:  Ma

Samay (times):  The raga is to be sung in the night. It is sung in the second prahar of night.

The raga is of shaadava-sampurna nature, i.e., in its arohana (ascent), only six notes are used, and in avarohana (descent), all seven notes are used. In general, the progression of the raga is highly non-linear, which makes it difficult to capture the essence of the raga using arohana and avarohana. The raga uses only natural (shuddha) versions of the Second (R), Third (G) and Sixth (D), both natural and sharp (tivra) versions of the Fourth (m and M, respectively), and predominantly natural versions of the Seventh (N) but occasionally also its flat (komal) version (n). ( m- teevra, M- shuddh)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on August 3, 2013 by in Ragas.
%d bloggers like this: